Home > Lecturers

Introduction of Opening Speaker

Prof. Joseph H.W. LEE

President of IAHR, currently Vice-Chancellor and President of Macau University of Science and Technology (MUST). Prof J.H.W. Lee is a native of Hong Kong and received his university and postgraduate education at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After three years of teaching as Assistant Professor at the University of Delaware he joined the University of Hong Kong (HKU), where he rose through the ranks to Redmond Chair Professor of Civil Engineering in 1996. At HKU, he was Dean of Engineering from 2000 to 2003, and Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Staffing) from 2004-2010. He then served as Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies and Chair Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at HKUST (2010-2016), followed by appointments as Elman Family Professor of Engineering and Public Policy (2017-18), and Senior Advisor to the President (2018-2020). He is a Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences and Honorary Professor of Nankai University and Hohai University. He was elected to the Royal Academy of Engineering, United Kingdom in 2008, and was bestowed Honorary Membership by the IAHR in 2015.


Introduction of Keynote Speakers


1. Dr. Mengqian LU

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). Dr. Lu obtained her Bachelor of Engineering from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at HKUST and Master of Science, Master of Philosophy and PhD in Columbia University. Her research focuses on diagnosis, modelling and prediction of hydrometeorological extremes, climate risk analysis and management.


2. Prof. Zongxue XU

Distinguished Professor, College of Water Sciences, Beijing Normal University. Prof. Xu obtained his bachelor’s degree of Science and Doctoral degree of Engineering from Wuhan University of Hydraulic and Electric Engineering (Presently Wuhan University), P.R. China. He also serves as vice president of International Association for Hydrological Science (IAHS), and vice chairman of Chinese National Committee, International Association for Hydrological Science (CNC-IAHS).


3. Dr. Liang GAO

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Macau. Dr. Gao obtained her BE and ME degrees from Tsinghua University, and PhD degree from HKUST. After her postdoctoral experience in HKUST and University of Oklahoma-National weather center, she joined University of Macau. Her research interests focus on storm-related hazards, integrated modelling of hazard processes, ecological estuary, and smart city.


4. Prof. Ji CHEN

Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, HKU, current chairman of IAHR-HK. He obtained PhD degree from UIUC, and ME and BE degrees from Tsinghua University, and joined HKU in September 2004. He was the past-president of the Hydrological Sciences Section in Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS, 2018-2020).